Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Wilmington Quakers
Give a gift

Women's Track & Field to Compete at Steemer Center for Second Time on Saturday

Photo by Randy Sarvis
Photo by Randy Sarvis


WILMINGTON, Ohio - The Wilmington College women's track and field team heads to Springfield, Ohio, for the second time this season for the HCAC (Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference)-NCAC-(North Coast Athletic Conference)-OAC (Ohio Athletic Conference) Challenge on Saturday. Field events are slated to begin at noon with track events getting under way 90 minutes later.

The Teams: Wilmington will be joined by OAC members, Heidelberg University and the University of Mount Union, HCAC members Anderson University, Earlham College and Hanover College, and NCAC institutions Wabash College and host Wittenberg University.

The Coach: Ron Combs enters his 22nd season as the head coach of Wilmington's men's and women's track and field teams. Combs has been named Coach of the Year, twice by the Heartland Athletic Conference, and once by the OAC. In 2002, he led the men's indoor team to a sixth-place finish at NCAA DIII Championships.

Who to Watch: Several Wilmington individuals recorded some top finishes the last time the team competed at Wittenberg's The Steemer – Dec. 6, 2019. Emma Burke paced the sprinters and hurdles with a third-place finish in the 60-meter hurdles while Jordan Snarr also finished third in her event, the 500-meter run. Three Quakers – Milena Wahl, Sydney Yontz and Katie Hughes – swept the 3,000-meter run. In field events, Kayli Sullivan and Keva Cox placed third in the weight throw and high jump respectively.

Coverage: Live video of the meet can be viewed by visiting the link above.

Social Media: Wilmington athletics is represented on Facebook (Wilmington College Athletics), Twitter (@DubCQuakers) and Instagram (@DubCQuakers). Follow all the happenings of Wilmington College on social media by using the hashtag "#WeAreDubC".

Up Next: Wilmington heads to the Joe Banks Invitational at Ohio Northern University on Feb. 1.