John Carroll Wins OAC Women's Swimming & Diving Title


AKRON, Ohio - John Carroll University claimed the 2019 Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) Swimming and Diving Championship title held at the University of Akron's Ocasek Natatorium on Feb. 14-16.

The Blue Streaks won the meet totaling 800 points. The University of Mount Union finished second with 723 points while Ohio Northern University took third place with 636 points. Baldwin Wallace University and Wilmington College rounded out the standings with 560 and 248 points respectively.

Gwyn Ledrick of John Carroll was named Women's Swimmer of the Year while Ohio Northern's Libby Sartschev earned Diver of the Year honors. John Carroll's coaching staff of Mark Fino, Lewis Fellinger, Theresa Prinster and Liz Tamas garnered the OAC Coaching Staff of the Year award.

John Carroll tallied three wins on the day including Ledrick's NCAA B-Cut time of 2:19.17 in the 200-yard breaststroke. Olivia Talamo claimed the OAC title in the 100-yard freestyle with a mark of 53.63 seconds. Finally, Talamo teamed up with Shebi Shearer, Hope Scherger and Maddie Dolce to win the 400-yard freestyle relay with a time of 2:35.98.

Ohio Northern also won three events on the day including Sartschev's 282.95-point performance on the three-meter board for diving. Kierra Watson won the 200-yard backstroke (2:06.23) while Lauren Halle (2:10.45) triumphed in the 200-yard butterfly.

Bella Ratino of Baldwin Wallace (17:39.80) won the 1,650-yard freestyle to round out the winners on day three of competition.