Four Different Teams Win Events on Day Two of OAC Championships

AKRON, Ohio - Four different women's swimming teams earned victories on day two of the 2019 Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) Swimming & Diving Championships hosted at the Ocasek Natatorium on Friday.

John Carroll University won both relays with Katelin Avenir, Gwyn Ledrick, Tori Vale and Olivia Talamo swam a time of 1:47.38 in the 200-yard medley relay followed by the Blue Streak squad of Maddie Dolce, Shelbi Shearer, Hope Scherger and Ledrick won the 800-yard freestyle relay with a mark of 7:50.64. Ledrick completed the trifecta by establishing an OAC record (1:03.63) in the 100-yard breaststroke.

Ohio Northern University's Lauren Halle won the 400-yard IM with a time of 4:36.69 while Kierra Watson took home the medal in the 100-yard backstroke with a mark of 57.35 seconds.

Baldwin Wallace University also won multiple events as Erika Nockengost earned a conference title in the 100-yard butterfly (58.84 seconds) while Allie Thorson won the 200-yard freestyle (1:56.35).

The University of Mount Union's Sarah Hrycyk won the one-meter diving competition with a score of 360.80.

Team scores after two days are as follows - John Carroll 554, Mount Union 485, Ohio Northern 410, Baldwin Wallace 370, Wilmington 170.

The final day of competition begins with prelims at 10 a.m. on Saturday.